PBA09q3755p4

This is my third blog for tonight. This is my third consecutive nightshift in the office. Geez. I don’t have anything to do. We don’t have any calls and I’m not complaining. Night shifts in our call center are usually the best. The managers are lenient. You can do almost everything you want. Almost. But I’ll save that topic for my next blog.

 

What I usually do at this time (read this: 03:50 am) is either sleep or watch some online movies. But right now, I’m just too lazy to do so. What I’m actually doing, obviously, is writing another entry. I’m excited, because it’s my first time to maintain a blogsite.

 

Just like the first time I had a friendster account. I’d check and refresh the site every now and then to find out if somebody sent me an invite, or viewed my account, or made a testimonial for me.

 

Just like the first time I was interviewed for a job in a call center.

 

Manager: I see in your resume that you took up Bachelor in Broadcast Communications.

 

Flamin: Yes, sir.

 

Manager: (impressing me with his American accent) Dun call me sir, call me Allan.

 

Flamin: Okay, sir. (stops) Okay, Allan. Sorry, I’m nervous.

 

Manager: It’s okay to be nervous. (browsing the resume) Well, you’re also a writer.

 

Flamin: Yes, Allan. I used to write feature articles for our class magazine.

 

Manager: Uhmkay. So if I were to ask you to write an article right now, what would it be?

 

Flamin: I would write an article about myself.

 

Manager: Uh-huh. So what about it? What about yourself?

 

Flamin: I will write the reasons why you SHOULD (giving emphasis) hire me right now.

 

Manager: Good. You’re hired.

 

Just like the first time I got my salary. I was really on cloud nine. I bought something (‘pasalubong’) for my family. It was priceless.

 

 

Meteor Garden-inspired picture in Pagudpud.

Meteor Garden-inspired picture in Pagudpud.

 

 

Just like the first time I had a ‘despedida’ before I left for Malaysia. I’ve never seen some of my friends who attended for quite a while. So after the party, I sent a group text to them (and I saved this in my cell phone). “Tonight was special. I’ve never felt as easy and comfortable as I’ve felt tonight for a very long time. I’ve felt so deprived of familiar warmth and affection. Tonight, you guys lit up my need for familiar voices, old jokes and tested bond. Yes, I’m feeling nostalgic, but it’s one of the most special emotions in the entire human experience especially when you’re longing for people who are worth-keeping.”

 

Just like the first time I board the plane. I didn’t know the SOP’s. It was weird watching the stewardess miming the emergency procedures while hearing the voice over.

 

Just like the first time I reached the hotel where I stayed during my first week in Malaysia. The company paid for it. Luxury at its finest.

 

Just like the first time I spent Christmas away from my family and friends. It sucked big time. I called my mom and they were having the usual annual reunion. It was also the first time I realized how important they are to me.

 

 

 

Anawangin Cove in Pundakit, Zambales

Anawangin Cove in Pundakit, Zambales

 

 

 

 

Another shot of Anawangin Cove

Another shot of Anawangin Cove

 

 

Just like the first time I had a crush. Just like the first time I bought my RL Stine book. Just like the first time I saw Pope John Paul II during the World Youth day. Just like the first time I became the president of our class. Just like the first time our group received flat 1.0 for our thesis. Just like the first time my parents bought me Bosch 509 cell phone. Just like the first time I bought my digicam. Just like the first time I went to Pagudpud  and Anawangin Cove with my friends.  Just like the first time I fell in love. Just like the first time somebody broke my heart. Just like the first time I realized that life wasn’t fair. Just like the first time I learned that ‘When God closes the door, He opens the window.’ Just like the first time I cried. Just like the first time I stood up for what I believed in. Just like the first time I decided to move on.

 

I will never forget all my first time experiences, be it bad or good. These events molded me and served as a reminder of the times as well as the people, who shared my journey once in my life.

 

