Bukit Jalil stadium is the nearest landmark in my place. I always pass by here because it’s on the way to the train stesen (station). My friend once told me you’ll never be lost in KL if you know where the nearest train stesen is. But this day was different. I saw teenagers lining up outside the entrance. I saw the different food stalls around the stadium. I saw hopeful, sad and triumphant faces. I felt the tension around. I don’t believe that curiosity kills the cat because somebody who is not curious is somebody who doesn’t care. So I tried my best to find out’s what’s happening.

  

Bukit Jalil Stadium, five minutes away from our place.

Bukit Jalil Stadium, five minutes away from our place.

 

 

 

Asking anybody was really not one of my options. Some of the locals don’t speak English and they have no obligation to explain to me what the fuss is about. It was just good that I saw the banner near the gate – ‘Akademi Fantasia.’ I automatically realized that this was their own version of Pinoy Dream Academy, wherein a number of contestants called ‘students’ compete for the winning title and a chance to start their career in the entertainment industry. 

 

I suddenly remembered six or seven months ago when my friend Scott and I went to SM North Edsa to audition for ‘Survivor Philippines.’ We reached the mall at 10:00 am and saw the longest line I’ve ever seen in my entire life. I’ve never imagined that many people (some of them, we thought, didn’t even know what the game was all about) came earlier and beat us to the audition. Apart from people craving to be popular, the prize at stake was a whopping three million pesos—no wonder it was a monster hit. We stayed for many hours until we could not take it anymore. We did not even survive the first audition process because we quitted. It was already 8:00 pm and we were not even interviewed yet.

  

Our decision to quit and go home was a no-brainer. We were really tired and frustrated. I sometimes wish that life is just an audition process. If I have a problem and I can’t take it anymore, I could just quit. When I have a really irate and nasty client over the phone, I wish I could just shout back and call him stupid. Then I could quit. Every time I miss my family and friends in Manila, I wish I could just quit my job and go home.

 

But unlike the audition, I can’t just quit. I have to prove myself to everybody. Though I am not doing this for them, I have this drive to strive harder so that I could have a better future.

 Unlike the different auditions, real life has no Season 2. I have to do things correctly on the first time because I could never replay it again, as much as I wanted to.

 

Akademi Fantasia Logo

Akademi Fantasia Logo

Life is not an audition. I could make mistakes along the way, but I should learn from it. My ultimate wish? For me to pass all the auditions that life has to offer me and emerge as a star in the best show of them all—my life.

My good friend Scott and I, bumming around during our trip in Singapore last 2K8.

My good friend Scott and I, bumming around during our trip in Singapore last 2K8.