I was surprised when my friend told me that he’ll soon be breaking up with his partner. It brought back memories when I broke up with my ex. I really could not take it that time. Every place I went, every song I heard, every friend I met and everything I did back then reminded me of our two year relationship. If I would consult a dictionary in 2007 and find the meaning of flamindevil, it would look this way:

flam-in-dev-il – (adj) bitter, vengeful, loser

There was only one word which I would like to do: revenge. But when I realized that no one could hurt me without my permission, I let go and moved on. I started to go out with my friends again, I did the things which I wasn’t able to do before, I pampered myself and went back to the circulation. Just when I thought that life would suck, it didn’t. Revenge maybe the sweetest thing that I could do, but having a good life was way better.

It’s weird because while I am writing this, Destiny’s Child’s ‘Survivor’ is being played over the radio.

 

I’m wishin’ you the best,
pray that you are blessed
Much success, no stress, and lots of
happiness
(I’m better than that)
I’m not gonna blast you on the radio
(I’m better than that)
I’m not gonna lie on you or yo family, yo
(I’m better than that)
I’m not gonna hate on you in the magazine
(I’m better than that)
I’m not gonna compromise my christianity
(I’m better than that)
You know I’m not gonna diss you on the
internet
(‘Cause my mama taught me better than that)

 

Two years ago, I may have thought that all the time, money and effort that were spent were just put into waste. Yup, I was back to square one again. The endless nights of being alone, the painful dating experiences and going out with possible flames are inevitable. Of course I would love to be taken care of and I would like to have someone who can inspire me again, immediately. Someone who will stay with me in nights beyond black; someone who will stand in a typhoon and smiles; someone who can be dark and dangerous, but sweet and lovely at the same time.

Life is Like a Game of Snakes and Ladders

Life is Like a Game of Snakes and Ladders

But that was two years ago. I was young, naive and immature. Now I’ve realized that the ‘Big Guy’ up there is always cooking something good for His favorite son, (drumroll) me. There’s no point in rushing. Everything happens, and will happen in God’s time. There maybe instances when I feel hopeless and fate brings me back to square one before I even know it. There’s nothing more frustrating than to start with nothing again. It’s like a game of snakes and ladders when I’m already in box 92 then suddenly a snake bites me and I find myself on box 25. Should I rant? Will it make a difference if I whine? Of course not. So the only choice is to pick myself up, be patient and move on. Although there are many snakes in my life which can throw me back at square one again, there are also ladders which could give me hope and help me advance in order to create the greatest game ever played!