In a week’s time, All Souls day will be celebrated again. It is always the best time to remember our departed loved ones and relive how they mean to us and how we cherish them.

During this time of the year, the person I remember the most is my late grandmother, Lola Lucing.

Since dad and mom worked abroad when I was still a kid, I grew up with my grandparents and my aunts. Lola Lucing has played a very important role in my younger years. She taught me that being a good boy is the most important thing in the world. She took care of me when I was sick, attended my pre-school activities and  most importantly, shaped me to become the person I am now.
 
Moreover, Lola helped me a lot in strengthening my faith in God. She taught me how to pray the rosary and we attended masses and church events together. It was because of her that I have completed countless ‘Simbang Gabi,’ made wishes after that, and found out that nothing is impossible for those who believe.

It was also because of Lola that I learned to love her favorite movie of all time, ‘The Sound of Music.’ Everytime I hear of this film, I would automatically think of no one  but her. As geeky as it may sound,until now I still memorize some of the classic songs in the film like ‘TheSound of Music,’ ‘Do Re Mi,’ ‘Sixteen Going on Seventeen,’ ‘So Long Farewell,’ ‘Climb Every Mountain,’ ‘Edelweiss,’ and ‘My Favorite Things.’

Five years ago, Lola succumbed to breast cancer. It was the saddest moment in my life. I literally saw her on her death bed at three in the morning. It was something which I would not wish even for my worst enemy to experience. Her wake passed by in a jiffy after that. I saw how Lola‘s peers andcontemporaries loved her so much. She really must have done something good.

The first time I went and worked abroad, during family reunions, Lolo‘s birthday, Christmases, New Years…yeah, there are still moments when I wish that Lola is still alive. I want her to see that the values and lessons she instilled in me throughout the years have been helping me cope up with the pressures and realities of the present.

I even dream of her at times. I am always happy everytime I see her in my dreams. I know that she’s already an angel who continues to guide and protect our family. And as the lyrics of ‘My Favorite Things’ say, and I quote,  ‘When the dog bites, when the bees sting, when I’m feeling sad. I simply remember my favorite things and then I don’t feel so bad.’

The years I’ve spent with Lola Lucing will forever be one of my favorite things in life.

Lola‘s memories will forever linger in me, like the sweetest music ever played.

SOM